Veterinary Surgery Service

131 Hospital Drive N.E. Suite 2
Ft. Walton Beach, FL 32548

(850)737-2333

surgeryvet.com

Brittany Garger
Dr. Wight and his team are hands down, the best in the area. If it weren't for his caring and compassionate team, my husband and I would not have been able to go on our honeymoon. They made a terrible situation manageable. The level of concern, the finesse of communication, and the love my dog and I felt were memorable. Thank you so, so much to the team. I would highly recommend this surgery clinic any day!
Mr. Hayes 
This place is amazing. I was worried after moving here from CO cause I am not at all impressed with the veterinarians in this area, but Dr. White and his staff are not only exceptional but above & beyond. I emailed Dr. White the first night I brought my Annie home after surgery way past office hours and received an immediate response, nobody does that, lol. And the care & information before during & after is just awesome. I can't say Thank You enough.
Mary Miller 
Words cannot explain how truly blessed we are to have found Dr. Wight! Our puppy Kaia was sick for a week, not eating, vomiting and lethargic. After being bounced around between our vet and the emergency vet we were finally referred to Dr. Wight. Immediately upon meeting his staff I felt relieved. They were all so caring and welcoming even though it was late in the day. Dr. Wight came in and spoke with me and was confident he knew what was wrong with Kaia. He explained he would first go in with a scope to make sure the obstruction couldn’t be removed without cutting her open. Unfortunately, he did have to do surgery but called me immediately when it was over and let me know how well Kaia was doing and that it was all over. He even sent a text to us late at night with a picture of her alive and well. The reassurance meant everything to our family. Not even 24 hours later we are at home and the healing begins. I recommend Dr. Wight’s facility above all others. They were a beacon of light during one of the scariest, most stressful weeks of our lives.
Chadwick Goleta 
Dr Wight and his staff are incredibly compassionate, attentive, and knowledgeable. My puppy had surgery and Dr Wight and his staff went the extra mile to keep me updated even over a holiday weekend.
L Watson 
Dr. Wright and his staff were amazing! I stepped in to help a stranger, whose dog had been hit by a car and had no means to care for it. They perform surgery on her fractured hip and she is now on the road to recovery. At my request, They spaded her at the same.

Dr. Wright was so kind as to offer to stay late or even return hours after his office closed in order for me to pick up the six-month-old puppy post surgery. Because this all happened so quickly, I was not prepared to care for the puppy at home that evening. They gave me dog food, leash and encouraging words.

Amazing people! The only bad news, was the discovery of a fine fracture on the opposite hip of this poor puppy. We will continue to watch her and decide further treatment on the that hip in the future.

Poor baby girl, two fractured hips and a fractured pelvis

I think he gave me a discount on the care. I’m so glad there are still good people in this world, God bless them

L Watson
Tim Sandlin 
Outstanding work. Staff is excellent Hope to never have to come back for any further care for our pet. But if we do I wouldn’t think of going anywhere else. Thanks for a job well done. Above and beyond our expectations.
Danny Wright
The care and love that everyone at the surgery center has shown to my sweet lab, Luna, was beyond measure. Dr Wight took great care of my Luna and was always available to talk with me about my concerns. The facility was beautiful, clean and had state of the art equipment. The staff was very friendly and helpful too. I would highly recommend the Veterinary Surgery Service center to anyone who needed their services. 100% Satisfied with Dr. Wight and his staff. Cheryl Wright
Paul Eurek
We were referred to Dr Wight by our local veterinarian, a very trustworthy individual. Our dog Boo required immediate surgery. We were extremely impressed with Dr. Wight, his staff, and the facilities. Dr. Wight took the time to explain the problem, our options, and the specifics of what the surgery would entail. It is very obvious that his practice has made a substantial investment in state-of-the-art diagnostic (CT Scan) and rehabilitation equipment. We felt that the advanced equipment ensured a more accurate diagnosis and we felt the post surgery rehabilitation technology would help get Boo back on his feet faster. The surgery was a success and Boo is doing great. Highest recommendation for Dr. Wight!!
Diane Minks
I was referred to Dr Wight to have a CT Scan done on my dog, Lucy, to diagnose the cause of an open sore on her face that also appeared to be affecting the nearby eye. The entire experience couldn't have been better. Dr Wight and his staff are extremely personable yet professional, the facility is immaculate and I believe the care provided to Lucy was superior. Dr Wight sat down with me and Lucy before the scan giving me a great overview of what he would be doing during the scan and how different outcomes would be handled. After the surgery, he also sat down with me to explain how things had gone, what was done and how recovery would go. The outcome was great - the scan showed that the problem was an abscessed tooth. Dr Wight removed her tooth while she was under anesthesia for the scan and provided the after surgery pain medication and antibiotics - all at no additional cost. He's a jewel and we are so lucky to have his clinic in our local area.
Diane Hewitt
The staff are welcoming, professional, and empathetic in their care of your pets. The facility is clean and quiet....which helps already anxious pet owners. Dr. Wight is personable, explaining findings and recommendations on a layman's level. I highly recommend his services to anyone who has a pet surgical need, or even a diagnostic test such as a CT. Thank you to him and the staff at Veterinary Surgery Service!
Aimee Anderson
First of all, I know this is going to be long....My cat Emerald had a visit with our normal Veterinarian, but she needed an ultrasound to determine the cause of her distended abdomen. We were referred to Dr Wight’s office and that was the best thing that could’ve ever happened! Dr Wight and his staff are by far some of the kindest people I have met! When I called and explained the situation they were able to work me in to the schedule less than 2 hours later. My husband and I were extremely impressed when we walked in at how nice the facility was- it is very well maintained, super clean and felt very inviting. We were brought back to an exam room where Emerald was scanned for a microchip (something I had never seen done at a Vet’s office before), weighed and we explained our concerns- which consisted of an extremely low hematocrit level 9 vs. between 40-45. Dr Wight came in following a surgical procedure he was performing to explain the ultrasound, what it was he was going to be looking for, etc. After the ultrasound, Dr Wight spent the next 20 min talking to my husband and I about what he found and the best course of action for our cat- she needed a blood transfusion and surgery to remove a mass that was causing the blood loss into her abdomen. His staff searched for and located cat blood to do a blood transfusion for Emerald that night! She needed to have surgery but would be unable to do so unless her hematocrit levels were higher. Mind you, this was 5:00–yet they stayed to take care of our baby! Following her blood transfusion, Dr Wight whisked her into surgery to remove the mass that had grown on the corner of her liver as well as two small spots that he identified in her abdomen. He called us after surgery to let us know how everything went and how Emerald was doing. Dr Wight text me at 11:00 PM to send me a picture of my cat and to give me an update- which was completely unexpected! I sincerely could not have been more impressed and pleased with the care we received. I only wish he did routine veterinary care! Lastly, realizing I forgot to grab Emerald’s pain medicine when we left, Dr Wight offered to bring it to my house in Navarre to save me a trip. Hands down, I would recommend his clinic to anyone that needs specialty care or diagnostic services. You won’t be sorry you went!
bella18180
Dr. Wight and all staff were wonderful. They gave me the best Christmas gift ever not once but twice. He was so kind and generous i came home and cried. I am so very grateful today to have my puppy with me. Thank you from the bottom of my heart. The clinic is beautiful and clean would highly recommend the whole staff.
Ken Costello
Absolutely a top notch surgery center. My dog had to have ACL repair done and they stepped me through every part of his recovery. They we're thorough and competent in every respect. No my dog is better than ever. I would recommend this place for your furry family members.
Cameron
Absolutely recommend Veterinary Surgery Service. We drove from 200 miles away because the service was great before, during and after the surgery on our Chihuahua's knee. Dr Wright and the team went out of their way to help us understand everything we were unsure of, and there were no surprises. And of course, our puppy is better for having had the surgery.
Christie C (2/15/18)
Dr. Wight and his staff are absolute angels. My dog had to have knee surgery and they took such great care of her before, during and after. He also did some physical therapy with her for a couple of weeks after the surgery--it wasn't just "the surgery's over--now we're done." He was honestly concerned that she get better. I can't say enough about them. My dog is my baby--and they understand and respect that. Also the absolute cleanest veterinary facility I've ever seen!
Jennifer B (1/28/19)
No one loves visiting a place that has both "Vet" and "Surgery" in its name, but if your dog has an ailment that needs to be seen by a specialized vet, this is the place you want to go.  My pup has a history of back issues, and of course, while I'm visiting my folks in Florida, she decides to subject herself to another injury.  Frantic, I start calling around trying to find a Vet that could treat her IVDD issues, since that requires either an MRI or CT machine.

Luckily, I stumbled across SurgeryVet and Dr. Wight and his amazing staff.  He was able to get Zoey seen immediately.  He was compassionate, asked questions and really listened.  He performed a number physical response tests on her before suggesting costly scans.  He sat with us and made sure we understood the diagnosis and treatment options.  At no time did I feel rushed and every question I asked was answered in a knowledgeable manner.  Fortunately, we caught this back injury in time to avoid surgery, but the Dr. suggested laser therapy to alleviate swelling and pain.  Knowing I was in from out-of-town and had limited time to treat Zoey, the doctor asked me to come in over the weekend to treat her with laser.  They are usually closed on the weekend but the doctor went out of his way to make sure my pup got the treatments she needed.  He also talked to me about a new treatment that Zoey would be a candidate for.  He explained it in detail and mentioned it was new to the market and as soon as he receives training he would give me a call to discuss it further.  

The staff is all smiles, friendly and professional.  They remember Zoey as soon as I walk in the door with her.  They also seem very concerned for the well-being of Zoey and her recovery.  The doctor has popped in to check on Zoey when his staff is administering the laser.  Had Zoey needed the IVDD surgery, it's an all-inclusive price including physical therapy, which is awesome.  I have gone through this surgery once with her and it would have been a dream to have the PT included in the cost as it's something your pet HAS to have after an IVDD procedure.

Dr. Wight and his staff have wonderful bedside manner and top-notch facilities.  Their prices are reasonable.  I'm happy to see a place like this exist in FWB.
BestOne kim (5/22/19)
We are truly grateful & blessed to have met Dr. White
He saved our family member "Bella" female pomeranian.
Truly outstanding, kind, courteous, and professional orthopedic surgeon! The staff is equally awesome!! Thanks for everything!!! We can now enjoy the rest of our vacation.
Howard G (5/23/19)
When my labradoodle sustained a partial tear of his right CCL, I took him to Dr. Wight for evaluation and treatment. As a physician myself, I'm very familiar with surgical facilities and proper procedures. This surgical clinic is absolutely top-notch, and the entire staff is outstanding. I don't think my dog could have received better care anywhere. I wouldn't even consider taking my dog anywhere else if he needs orthopedic surgery in the future.
Sherma Wieneke (6/4/19)
Dr Wright and his staff is the the best.when you get there it is a very pleasant looking building with two entrances one for boarding the other is for surgery that’s where I went. my dog had a tumor on his leg and the best option was to have the leg removed.The staff met us up front and where very pleasant and showed us to a room that was spacious and clean. Dr Wright took his time to go over what needed to be done. What the cost would be.(no hidden costs) he was straight forward and I loved that I new exactly what was going to be done how much it would be and what my dogs recovery looked like. I had little kids with me and they took the time to answer there questions in a way that they could understand. I felt better leaving my dog with them and had a good feeling about the out come.
When I picked him up they explained the meds and told me not to hesitate calling them if I needed them over the weekend.
If this is any measure of the service he provided I’m sure my dog was in good hands.
Janette Biel (6/13/19)
The staff is so helpful and courteous.... they are always so kind and understanding and bend over backwards for my last minute appointment requests. I can’t say enough about this staff! I think my dog (Angel) is more excited to go there once a week than she is to go on a walk, car ride or unlimited treats.
Joel Rippert (6/13/19)
I wouldnt take my pup jax anywhere else after my first time there. Amazing staff and care for my pup! If you have any serious surgery needs this is the place to go. Very clean as well!
Amy Dooley (6/15/19)
This place is a God-send. Dr. Wright and staff cared for my puppy after diagnosing her with basically a paralyzed digestive system. We had been searching for answers to her vomiting for 2 weeks. We finally found this place and they had the necessary tools to perform a very much needed endoscopy to diagnose the issue. They have been more than gracious by providing the canned food she needs, helping me with Cassie's feeding tube she has to use for a few weeks until healing of her system, and answering the phone personally every time I call to ask questions. They took great care of her when she stayed the weekend and have just been wonderful, accommodating, and accessible throughout this entire process.
micky C (7/2/19)
I absolutely love Dr. Wight and his staff. My sweet girl ZaZu had cancer in her shoulder blade and had to have her leg and shoulder removed. From introductions to discharge he and his staff were amazing. They texted me pictures and updates as she passed through each hurdle through surgery and recovery. He was open, honest and very candid through the entire process (including her chances post surgery). He made making tough decisions easier. I am glad to say that ZaZu is doing well and she owes the last few months (and whatever time she has left) to Dr. Wight and his staff. Thank you doesn’t cut it.
Cecilia Avery (7/30/19)
Our poor kitty was in need of PU surgery to resolve his reoccurring urinary blockages. Dr. Wright and his staff were able to give our kitty the absolute best care. Everyone was very helpful, caring, and respectful during each visit and phone call. We are so grateful to have such a wonderful surgical service so close to home. I would recommend Dr. Wright to anyone looking for surgical services for their pets. Our kitty has healed nicely and is back to his happy self again. Thank you so much!
Cagri Ilkbaharlilar (12/20/19)
My poor baby Maya had to have a tplo surgery . Dr Wight and his crew was just amazing . After her exam very next day she got the surgery . I was extremely nervous and in kinda panic . His knowledge, experience and confidence made me relax. Very clean facility, everbody knows what they are doing and that is the key . Everybody always smiling and explain you every single detail.All those made me very comfortable with surgery and post surgery (recovery stuff) . My sweet potato Maya
%100 healed and getting better and better . i cant thank enough Dr Wight and his crew for this stressful surgery and 8 weeks recovery period . Everytime when i see my baby walking i will remember that how amazing you guys are . :)
Jean Cochran (1/26/20)
Dr. Wight is such a compassionate veternian. All the staff members are great also! Would highly recommend this surgery center to anyone.
nicolette powell (3/15/20)
Dr. Wight and his staff are incredible! P.D ( my cat ) and I are so grateful we found you. After being referred to Veterinary Surgery Services by P.D's primary vet, I was so pleased after meeting with Dr. Wight. Surgery went seamlessly, updates and pictures were provided post surgery, and every staff member I spoke with was so kind and caring. I felt comfortable knowing P.D was in such good hands and highly recommend this facility.
Kanisha Carson (3/30/20)
Thank you so much for taking the time to care for our cat Luna. I really appreciate discussing cost up front in a friendly manner. Luna is happy and healthy at home.
Austin Kutis (4/20/20)
Dr Wight and his staff were awesome and took great care of my puppy.
Tammy Dausel  (7/21/20)
Dr. Wight and his team are SUPER stars. He diagnosed our "Toby" with a rare adrenal gland cancer in not just one but both of his adrenal glands. We are EXTREMELY grateful to him and his team for getting us set up at UF Veterinary Hospital to have a life saving procedure to save Toby's life. Not only did he see us off to UF, he also managed Toby's care after his first surgery so we could have the second surgery. Without him, Toby would not be here today with us. Toby is now "swimming" with his team to build up the muscle tone in his back end from a prior IVDD surgery 10 years ago. Words do not express the gratitude we have for him and his team. Keep up the amazing work you do!!
Mary Epps (8/9/20)
Our Cavalier had soft tissue surgery and Dr. Wight and his staff were wonderful. The surgery was very successful And recovery was easy. We highly recommend them.
Lisa Parker (8/31/20)
Very professional and compassionate. We saw Dr. Wight today for a CT scan on our kitty. The diagnosis is not what we wanted to hear. He took the time to talk with us and make sure we had no questions before leaving. He was very kind and caring. I greatly recommend him and his staff. Everyone that I encountered were amazing. Thank you guys.
Emilie Hogan  (9/26/20)
Brought my Yorkie in for a Cystotomy as an emergency and they fit us into the schedule to make the surgery happen. Nothing but good things to say about this practice. Dr.White is awesome and I was treated like family. Will definitely recommend this office to everyone I know!
Amanda Helmrich (10/15/20)
This review is well overdue. When my GSD was 4 months old, we started getting concerned about hip dysplasia. My vet told me there was a preventative surgery he was eligible for but the door was closing quickly for the age cutoff. I called around everywhere but many places hadn’t even heard of the surgery. After speaking with the receptionist at Vet Surgery Service, Dr. Wight called me HIMSELF to tell me about the surgery and how we would proceed from the consultation. I hadn’t even made an appointment with him! It was an hour and a half away but I felt confident it would be worth it because he told me exactly what we would do if this, that, or the other, and exactly what it would cost. I was sitting on the floor with my puppy when he walked into the exam room and he had a seat right next to me to talk and do the exam. He recommended a “Pen Hip Evaluation” before we altered Chuck’s active life and and paid for the expensive surgery and although the test was expensive, again, it seemed worth it. It turned out he didn’t even recommend the surgery. Chuck’s hips were only at mild risk of developing into dysplasia which was written up for me in an email in a thorough and easy to read way. Dr. Wight didn’t operate on my dog but I thank him from the bottom of my heart for his compassion and advise. I would recommend him to any pet with orthopedic concerns.
Victoria Petrof(10/20/20)
Dr. White was very thorough and knowledgeable. Beautiful and clean facility as well. Thank you!
Rick McLeod (11/12/20)
Our Brittany rescue, Misty, was limping so we took her to our vet who referred us to another place near by. After researching that place, I began looking for a place with better reviews. I found the Veterinary Surgery Service, and their reviews were outstanding.  I called Vet Surgery clinic and they had the referral moved to their office, and setup an appointment to see Dr. Wright for an exam.  They were on-time and when Dr. Wright entered the room he sat down on the floor and was able to coax Misty over to him, I was shocked she went as she is very shy.  He performed a knee exam while we chatted about her history, then ordered x-rays. He showed us the x-rays and how the bone was deteriorating on both sides of the knee cap. Dr. Wright felt there was something pushing up her knee cap away from the joint, he suspected a tumor. Misty's age is unknown, but we believe she's about 8 years old. We scheduled her for surgery the next week, and they removed her leg.  Dr. Wright told us to expect bruising, and how it would develop over the next few days. He told us if we had any concerns over the weekend to contact him, with pictures, via his email account and he would respond. We noticed the bruising was moving up into her abdominal area, so we sent him a pic via e-mail, and he responded fairly fast, which put our minds at ease.  Dr. Wright, and his team, are very professional, caring, reliable, and responsive. The costs for Misty's amputation were exact and covered everything except for the additional costs of a pathology report, which I had asked for.  I highly recommend Dr. Wright and his staff. Misty has adapted to the amputation and is getting stronger each day.
Charlee Mullen  (11/25/20)
Dr. Wight and his staff are so knowledgeable, passionate and professional. They took such excellent care of my sweet baby girl Haley. All the staff was great!! They explained everything super well, and were there to answer any questions or concerns I had. They were so supportive and genuine in their care. Highly highly recommend them for any of your emergency needs. Our baby Haley was a head strong patient doing physical therapy with Dr. Wight and his staff from a past surgery done elsewhere. Haley went down at home over the weekend probably over doing herself running like a wild woman chasing them squirrels and she became an emergency case on a Monday morning. I was completely comfortable with everything that was done for her and her physical therapy second time around for 6 weeks...she was back to where she was and even further along than before her last surgery. Our Haley is living her best life and she is walking better after her second back surgery with Dr. Wight than she did for her first done elsewhere. Thank y’all for giving my Haley a brighter future!! Our family is very happy and this mama is very thankful!!

Kim Hopkins 11/30/20)
With our new round of puppies, we are doing everything we can to avoid a cancer diagnosis (had two pass for this). To that end, we don't want the traditional "gold standard" spaying and neutering. We want a hysterectomy and vasectomy when it's time (around 18 mos). Dr. Wight called me back personally, answered all of my questions. When the time comes, I guarantee we'll be taking our puppies to him. Thank-you for picking Fort Walton Beach.
Jon Mizell (12/21/20)
Long post alert but relevant to anyone looking for a Veterinarian Surgeon in the local area: BLUF: Dr. Wight and his staff will forever be in our debt. You should not think twice about having your furry loved one cared for by him and his staff. Our 9 yr. old Cavalier King Charles simply stopped walking and having control of his hind legs on a Sunday afternoon. We took him to the emergency Vet in Destin and they diagnosed disc issues in his back and recommended we either went straight to a university or Tallahassee to a clinic in the morning. They also mentioned Dr. Wight’s office as an option but did not know his availability. Baron almost died that night due to a reaction to the pain medication administered. Had we left for a university he would not be here. He was able to pull through after they changed his medicine and I emailed (as recommended on the voicemail) Dr. Wight’s office asking if they could get him in quickly. I received a phone call the following morning that Dr. Wight could see Baron that day. Of course, Baron was on many pain meds and looked like he could move around the next day when seeing Dr. Wight, the first time. He sent us home with some pain meds and instructions to call him if things got worse. Things did get worse in the next couple days and Baron was not walking again by Thursday. Again, Dr. Wight’s staff was able to get us in to see him in on short notice and he went through a very thorough exam of Baron. At this point, he gave us an option of medicine management through the weekend or to take images to see exactly what was going on and move to surgery if needed. Obviously, we were already several hundred dollars in from the emergency vet visit so it was nice that he was giving options that were not that expensive. After talking with my wife, we decided to get the imaging and surgery if needed. He had a herniated disc and had surgery that same day. I was amazed that Baron was walking the next day. He is now in the 6-week physical therapy program included with the cost of the surgery. This therapy is led by Christy and she is amazing. I am amazed at his progress and very thankful he is not in pain. Dr. Wight and his staff have been very professional, straightforward and very caring for our Baron. I would not hesitate to recommend Dr. Wight’s services to anyone that needs it.
Hannah Aspenson (12/27/20)
I cannot recommend this place enough! Our 5-month old puppy broke his humerus in two places at a dog park. We were so worried about what this would mean for him and if he would ever be normal again. Dr. Wight and his staff were so accommodating and genuine when we brought him in. The surgery was quite complicated but Dr. Wight didn’t treat us as if it was a pain for him even though I’m sure it was quite the challenge. He did such a good job and encouraged us to follow up with him on a regular basis. He genuinely cared about how our puppy was doing long after the surgery. I’m so pleased with the results and the great care that this team took to make sure our puppy came out of this as best as he possibly could. I highly recommend Dr. Wight and am SO happy we chose not to go anywhere else. No surprise fees or extra add ons that weren’t necessary. Worth every penny!!!!!!
Matt Ruben (12/26/20)
They were fantastic. The doctor took a conservative approach and did only what was needed instead of charging us for more for unnecessary tests and procedures. He was warm, caring, and friendly and explained everything well. I can’t recommend enough.
Lauren Peebles (1/14/21)
Dr Wight and his team were amazing and saved my dog Willie Nelson’s life. A very scary morning turned into the best experience possible having been referred from Destin Animal Clinic. I was met with a practice as clean as a human surgery center. After Willie’s surgery, the medical team Ashlyn, called me after hours to keep me in the loop while Willie recovered for several days throughout the weekend. Another tech and her husband Charlie made chicken and rice after Willie was having a hard time and was depressed after the trauma he had been through. They made all the difference in the world! Exceptional quality, care and standards. Above and beyond is an understatement. Thank you Ashlyn, Dr. Wight and Charlie and his wife! And also the texh that called me that morning to come get Willie out of his funk and back on the road to recovery. If you are faced with a medical challenge they are the best. Forever Grateful
Kerry Horton (1/25/21)
Dr. Wight and his team are exceptional; I cannot believe how lucky we are to have them here in our area. From the initial referral appointment to the post-op appointments, he and his staff have been consummate professionals. He and his team kept me in the loop every step of the way. My dog, Bo, LOVES to return to the office for his follow-up blood work - to me that speaks volumes about how well he is treated during each appointment. He will happily trot off with them to go to the back for blood draws every single time. We actually live in Niceville and the quality care, knowledge, and professional service makes the 30 minute drive worth every minute. I highly recommend this crew and will return if the need ever arises. Thank you all so much!
Sandra Wilson (2/3/21)
Words cannot express how grateful we are for all you did for Hilda.  She's a brand new dog with a second lease on life.  We didn't realize how much this affected her and since the surgeries she's bouncing around like a puppy!  Thanks so much for all you & your team did for her.
Karen matuskey (2/24/21)
Dr. Wight performed liver tumor removal surgery on Yoda in September 2020. I just wanted to tell all of you how thankful I am that you are located in this area. In addition I wanted to say that every member of your team is top notch. I worked with animal rescue groups and many vets for 20 years in other states and so appreciate the care and kindness of all of you. In addition I have had Yoda rechecked for any other liver issues twice since surgery and he is good. Thank you for saving his life.